Quick contact info

EFN is a meeting point for Science, Technology and Industry about research, teaching and exchange on building envelope knowledge.

icon_widget_image info@europeanfacadenetwork.eu

FTI Announces the 2023 Vitruvian Honors & Awards Program

FTI Announces the 2023 Vitruvian Honors & Awards Program

The Facade Tectonics Institute is pleased to announce our second biennial Vitruvian Honors & Awards Program, for which registration is scheduled to open in mid-January 2023. The premiere celebration seeks to recognize unprecedented innovation and achievements in the field of facade design and delivery. FTI has developed a highly curated awards program to honor exemplary projects and project teams, as well as individuals that have made extraordinary contributions to facade design, engineering, fabrication, installation, and lifecycle performance. Honing in on FTI’s mission, the 2023 Vitruvian Honors & Award recipients will embody the goals of the Institute in advancing the art, science and technology of designing, planning, and constructing high performance building facades for the benefit of the planet and people.


Important Dates

  • Monday, January 16, 2023 – Program launch
  • Monday, June 19, 2023 – Award submission deadline
  • Monday, July 17, 2023 – Finalist slate is finalized; Finalists notified
  • Tuesday, September 19, 2023 – FTI Vitruvian Honors & Awards Symposium and Gala Awards Ceremony


Award Categories

FTI’s Vitruvian Honors & Awards Committee worked collaboratively to develop ten distinct categories that are emblematic of The Institute’s vision and mission as well as celebrate innovation, collaboration, and achievement within the AECO industry. During the awards ceremony, FTI will announce an award recipient in each of the following categories:


Project Awards

  • Outstanding New Facade (low-rise, mid-rise, high-rise)
  • Outstanding Facade Renovation
  • Outstanding Facade Heritage Conservation
  • Outstanding Facade Innovation
  • Outstanding Facade Integration
  • Outstanding Unbuilt Facade
  • Outstanding Facade Research


People Awards

  • Collaborative Achievement
  • Unsung Hero
  • Emerging Professional


Judging Panel

Judges are thought leaders from a cross section of the global architectural industry. The 2023 members of the jury are:

  • Achilles Ahimbisibwe, FoBE
    Karen Brandt, AIA
  • Rowan Georges, AIA
  • Julia Gersovitz O.C.
  • Paula Lavarello
  • Kelly Sutherlin McLeod FAIA
  • Professor Dr. Ing. Ulrich Knaack


Project Award Eligibility

For awards involving built projects, the projects must have been completed in the last five years and have been functioning and occupied for at least one calendar year.

All members of the project team-owner, architect, key consultants, contractors, fabricators, and material and systems suppliers-must be credited.

Members of the jury credited in an entry, or whose organization of employment is credited in an entry, will be recused from judging that submission.

Submission form and deliverables must be completed by the submission deadline.


Finalists & Winners

Winners will be honored at the biennial Vitruvian Honors & Awards ceremony.  Finalists will have the opportunity to present their project on a virtual FTI Vitruvian Honors & Awards webinar. Awards will be presented at a lecture/cocktail party at the Center for Architecture in New York City.

2023 Vitruvian Awards_1